Dr. Michael Preuhs

Fields of expertise

  • / ACP therapy
  • / Arthrosis therapy
  • / shock wave therapy
  • / acupuncture
  • / chiropractic therapy
  • / Minimally invasive spinal therapy
  • / NSM neurostimulation

Keyfacts.

Dr. med. Michael Preuhs is a specialist in orthopedics with additional qualifications in sports medicine, chiropractic and acupuncture.

The focus of his work is the conservative treatment of orthopedic clinical pictures as well as sports medicine injuries and diseases using conventional and alternative methods. Before founding his practice, Dr. Preuhs worked, among other things, as a physician in the orthopedic group practice Drs. Eichhorn/Strobel and Partners in Straubing.

Since 2004, Dr. Preuhs has been an instructor for the Acupuncture Research Group: he regularly leads training and continuing education events for medical colleagues. In his field of expertise, Dr. Preuhs has published several papers and given lectures at national and international congresses.

Dr. Preuhs' activities also include the care of top athletes. These include or have included professional soccer players of 1. FC Köln and FC Schalke 04, of Borussia Dortmund as well as junior players of the German Soccer Association.

Make appointment

References.

ACP therapy
NSM Neurostimulation

NSM neurostimulation is a new therapy for the treatment of orthopedic and neurological pain disorders. For this purpose, fine probes - comparable to acupuncture needles - are placed on the diseased tissue. The method was developed by Prof. (USA/UNC) PD Dr. med. A. Molsberger and is based on the control of the body's own electrical fields. Neurostimulation is largely painless. The treatment lasts 30 minutes. Similar to other stereotactic procedures, neurostimulation involves placing fine probes precisely in the diseased areas of the body after local anesthesia. After verification of correct location, specific electric fields are applied. These are generated by a microprocessor-controlled stimulation device. The patient feels a fine, painless tingling sensation. Unlike conventional stereotactic procedures, neurostimulation does not destroy tissue.

NSM stimulations are performed in Germany by specially licensed specialists who are committed to medical and scientific quality standards and are in constant exchange of knowledge. Our practice is part of this network.

Information about NSM stimulation can be found here:
www.neueschmerztherapie.de

The Facebook patient page can be found here:
www.facebook.com/nsmschmerztherapie

Osteoarthritis therapy

Osteoarthritis is a wear and tear disease of single or multiple joints or articular cartilage due to excessive stress or insufficient load bearing capacity. It is not curable; it is important to stop the wear process early and to alleviate the effects.

The goal of arthrosis therapy is to restore pain-free gliding of the joint surfaces. First, mechanical factors (axial misalignments, excess weight, consequences of injuries) are eliminated as far as possible. Then drugs are administered that

inhibit inflammation
rebuild the lubricating layer in the joint
contribute to cartilage recovery.

Subsequent treatment options:

Acupuncture
Physiotherapy
Joint-relieving bandages
Independent movement exercises (cycling)
Shock wave therapy center

Extracorporeal shock wave therapy (ESWT) is a shock wave treatment that can be used to treat a variety of conditions, including heel spurs, tendinosis calcarea (calcified shoulder), Achilles tendon pain, tennis elbow, and patellar tendinitis.

In ESWT, a shock wave penetrating the tissue from the outside acts directly on the pain point using a special technique. The sound waves are generated in a shock wave generator by a spark discharge under water, which creates an explosive water vaporization.

These waves are focused in an ellipse-shaped container, at the focus of which the highest energy occurs. The container is located in a water-filled bellows, the transducer. During treatment, the focus of the transducer is placed on the focus of the disease. After the wave leaves the transducer, it spreads throughout the body.

Minimally invasive spinal therapy

Minimally invasive spinal therapy includes various spinal interventions that cause only minimal damage to the tissue - and are therefore gentle - as part of sequential pain therapy.

The various procedures are suitable for acute, injury-related and chronic degenerative (wear-related) complaints of the spine.

Acupuncture

Acupuncture is a branch of traditional Chinese medicine. It is based on the body's vital energies, which circulate along defined longitudinal pathways (meridians) and have a controlling influence on all bodily functions.

A disturbed energy flow is held responsible for illnesses - such disturbances of the energy flow are to be repaired by stabs into defined acupuncture points.

Dr. Preuhs holds the acupuncture B-diploma and is an instructor of the Acupuncture Research Group. He has been teaching acupuncture as an instructor since February 2004 and has attended several continuing education events each year since then. He performs approximately 12,000 acupunctures annually.

Chirotherapy

Chirotherapy (manual therapy) is a centuries-old form of treatment. Now scientifically recognized, it is used to eliminate disturbed joint and muscle functions in the extremities and spine.

Particularly in the spine, blockages of joint play can lead to irritation of the nervous system. Consequences:

Back pain
Headache
sciatic pain
chest and stomach pain.

With the help of chirotherapy, such joint blockages can be released and painful as well as restricted functions in the muscle and tendon tissue can be positively influenced.

Only doctors specially trained in this field have the additional title of chiropractor, which is necessary for treatment.

Dr. Michael Preuhs

Fachgebiete

  • / ACP-Therapie
  • / Arthrosetherapie
  • / Stoßwellentherapie
  • / Akupunktur
  • / Chirotherapie
  • / Minimal-invasive Wirbelsäulentherapie
  • / NSM-Neurostimulation

Das Wichtigste.

Dr. med. Michael Preuhs ist Facharzt für Orthopädie mit den Zusatzbezeichnungen Sportmedizin, Chirotherapie und Akupunktur.

Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit ist die konservative Behandlung orthopädischer Krankheitsbilder sowie sportmedizinischer Verletzungen und Erkrankungen mittels schulmedizinischer und alternativer Methoden. Vor der Gründung seiner Praxis war Dr. Preuhs unter anderem als Arzt in der orthopädischen Gemeinschaftspraxis Drs. Eichhorn/Strobel und Partner in Straubing tätig.

Seit 2004 ist Dr. Preuhs Ausbilder der Forschungsgruppe Akupunktur: er leitet regelmäßig Aus- und Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen der ärztlichen Kollegen. In seinem Fachgebiet hat Dr. Preuhs mehrere Publikationen veröffentlicht und Vorträge auf nationalen und internationalen Kongressen gehalten.

Zu den Tätigkeiten von Dr. Preuhs gehört auch die Betreuung von Spitzensportlern. Dazu zählen bzw. zählten Profi-Fußballer des 1. FC Köln und des FC Schalke 04, von Borussia Dortmund sowie Nachwuchskicker des Deutschen Fußballbundes.

Termin vereinbaren

Referenzen.

ACP-Therapie

NSM-Neurostimulation

Die NSM-Neurostimulation ist eine neue Therapie zur Behandlung orthopädischer und neurologischer Schmerzerkrankungen. Hierzu werden feine Sonden - vergleichbar mit Akupunkturnadeln - an das erkrankte Gewebe platziert. Die Methode wurde von Prof. (USA/UNC) PD Dr. med. A. Molsberger entwickelt und basiert auf der Steuerung körpereigener elektrischer Felder. Die Neurostimulation ist weitgehend schmerzfrei. Die Behandlung dauert 30 Minuten. Ähnlich wie bei anderen stereotaktischen Verfahren werden bei der Neurostimulation nach einer Lokalanästhesie feine Sonden präzise an die erkrankten Stellen des Körpers gesetzt. Nach Überprüfung der korrekten Lage werden spezifische elektrische Felder angelegt. Diese werden durch ein mikroprozessor-gesteuertes Stimulationsgerät erzeugt. Der Patient spürt ein feines, schmerzloses Kribbeln. Im Unterschied zu den konventionellen stereotaktischen Verfahren wird durch die Neurostimulation kein Gewebe zerstört.

NSM-Stimulationen führen in Deutschland speziell lizensierte Fachärzte durch, die sich medizinischen und wissenschaftlichen Qualitätsansprüchen verpflichten und in ständigem Wissensaustausch stehen. Unsere Praxis ist Teil dieses Verbundes.

Information zur NSM-Stimulation finden Sie hier:
www.neueschmerztherapie.de

Die Facebook Patientenseite finden Sie hier:
www.facebook.com/nsmschmerztherapie

Arthrosetherapie

Die Arthrose ist eine abnutzungsbedingte Verschleißerkrankung einzelner oder mehrerer Gelenke bzw. des Gelenkknorpels aufgrund zu hoher Belastung oder zu geringer Belastbarkeit. Sie ist nicht heilbar; es ist wichtig, frühzeitig den Abnutzungsprozess aufzuhalten und die Auswirkungen zu lindern.

Ziel der Arthrosetherapie ist die Wiederherstellung des schmerzfreien Gleitens der Gelenkflächen. Vorab werden mechanische Faktoren (Achsfehlstellungen, Übergewicht, Verletzungsfolgen) möglichst ausgeschaltet. Dann werden Medikamente verabreicht, die

  • die Entzündung hemmen
  • die Schmierschicht im Gelenk wieder aufbauen
  • zu einer Knorpel-Erholung beitragen.

Daran anschließende Behandlungsmöglichkeiten:

  • Akupunktur
  • Physiotherapie
  • Gelenkentlastende Bandagen
  • Eigenständige Bewegungsübungen (Radfahren)

Zentrum für Stoßwellentherapie

Die extrakorporale Stoßwellentherapie (ESWT) ist eine Stoßwellenbehandlung, mit der verschiedene Erkrankungen behandelt werden können, z. B. Fersensporn, Tendinosis calcarea (Kalkschulter), Achillessehnenbeschwerden, Tennisellenbogen, Patellaspitzen-Syndrom.

Bei der ESWT wirkt eine von außen durch das Gewebe dringende Stoßwelle, die mittels spezieller Technik direkt an den Schmerzpunkt geführt wird. Die Schallwellen werden in einem Stoßwellen-Generator durch eine Funken-Entladung unter Wasser erzeugt, bei der eine explosionsartige Wasserverdampfung entsteht.

Diese Wellen werden in einem ellipsenförmigen Behälter gebündelt, an dessen Fokus die höchste Energie auftritt. Der Behälter liegt in einem mit Wasser gefüllten Balg, dem Schallkopf. Dieser wird bei der Behandlung mit seinem Fokus am Krankheitsherd angesetzt. Nachdem die Welle den Schallkopf verlassen hat, breitet sie sich im Körper aus.

Minimal-invasive Wirbelsäulentherapie

Die minimal-invasive Wirbelsäulentherapie umfasst diverse, nur minimal das Gewebe schädigende - und damit schonende - Eingriffsmöglichkeiten an der Wirbelsäule im Rahmen der sequentiellen Schmerztherapie.

Die verschiedenen Verfahren bieten sich bei akuten, verletzungsbedingten und chronisch degenerativen (verschleißbedingten) Beschwerden der Wirbelsäule an.

Akupunktur

Akupunktur ist ein Teilgebiet der traditionellen chinesischen Medizin. Ausgegangen wird dabei von Lebensenergien des Körpers, die auf definierten Längsbahnen (Meridianen) zirkulieren und einen steuernden Einfluss auf alle Körperfunktionen haben.

Ein gestörter Energiefluss wird für Erkrankungen verantwortlich gemacht - durch Stiche in definierte Akupunkturpunkte sollen solche Störungen des Energieflusses behoben werden.

Dr. Preuhs ist Inhaber des Akupunktur B-Diploms und Ausbilder der Forschungsgruppe Akupunktur. Seit Februar 2004 unterrichtet er als Dozent für Akupunktur und besucht seitdem jedes Jahr mehrere Weiterbildungs-Veranstaltungen. Er führt jährlich ca. 12.000 Akupunkturen durch.

Chirotherapie

Die Chirotherapie (Manualtherapie) ist eine Jahrhunderte alte Behandlungsform. Mittlerweile wissenschaftlich anerkannt, dient sie der Beseitigung gestörter Gelenk- und Muskelfunktionen an den Extremitäten und der Wirbelsäule.

Besonders im Bereich der Wirbelsäule können Blockierungen des Gelenkspiels zu Irritationen des Nervensystems führen. Folgen:

  • Rückenschmerzen
  • Kopfschmerzen
  • Ischiasbeschwerden
  • Brust- und Magenschmerzen.

Mit Hilfe der Chirotherapie können derartige Gelenkblockierungen gelöst und schmerzhafte sowie eingeschränkte Funktionen im Muskel- und Sehnengewebe positiv beeinflusst werden.

Nur speziell hierfür ausgebildete Ärzte führen die zur Behandlung notwendige Zusatzbezeichnung Chirotherapie.